CBSIG Awards Final Results

The CBSIG is pleased to announce a new crop of award-winning Consumer Behavior scholars. The Rising Star award, the Research in Practice Award, and the Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented at the online CBSIG Reception at the 2021 Virtual AMA Winter Academic Conference (February 19, 5:00 pm Eastern time). Please attend the virtual reception and congratulate these talented researchers! Note: CBSIG officers recused themselves of evaluating any nominations that presented a perceived conflict of interest.

The CBSIG Rising Star Award honors a doctoral student scholar who demonstrates a bright future in consumer behaviour research. And this year’s co-winners are: Alicea Lieberman, from the University of California – San Diego, and John Costello, from Ohio State University.

The CBSIG Consumer Research in Practice Award recognizes a scholarly research article that contributes significantly to marketing practice. The 2021 award is based on articles that appeared in a refereed journal (including but not limited to Journal of Marketing, Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of the Association for Consumer Research, and Journal of Consumer Psychology) in calendar year 2019. The winning article must meet the following criteria:

  • Rigorous scholarly research
  • Addresses an important marketing managerial issue
  • An explicit objective of contributing to marketing practice
  • Strong and compelling marketing implications
  • Potential applicability across a range of products, services, and/or industries

And the co-winners are: 

  • Mansur Khamitov, Indiana University (incoming Jan 1, NTU outgoing), Xin (Shane) Wang, Western University, and Matthew Thomson, Western University, for their article: “How Well Do Consumer-Brand Relationships Drive Customer Brand Loyalty? Generalizations from a Meta-Analysis of Brand Relationship Elasticities,” which appeared in the October 2019 issue of the Journal of Consumer Research.
  • Dennis Herhausen, KEDGE Business School, Stephan Ludwig, University of Melbourne, Dhruv Grewal, Babson College, Jochen Wulf, University of St. Gallen, and Marcus Schoegel, University of St. Gallen for their article: “Detecting, Preventing, and Mitigating Online Firestorms in Brand Communities,” which appeared in the May 2019 issue of the Journal of Marketing.

The CBSIG Lifetime Achievement Award honors a marketing scholar who has contributed significantly to the field of consumer research. Past winners include Lynn Kahle, Jim Bettman, Richard Lutz, Linda Price, Don Lehmann, Jag Sheth, Debbie MacInnis, and Gerald Zaltman. The 2021 winner is John G. Lynch, Jr., University of Colorado.

Congratulations to All!  See you virtually in February!