2021-22 CBSIG Award Winners

We’re happy to announce this year’s stellar crop of CBSIG award winners! The Rising Star award, the Research in Practice Award, and the Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented at the CBSIG Reception at the 2022 Winter AMA. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating these talented researchers:

The CBSIG Rising Star Award honors advanced doctoral students or candidates in marketing, advertising, or psychology in good standing at an AACSB university; rising stars have demonstrated research productivity (e.g., presented a conference paper, published a journal article) and a bright future in consumer behavior research.

The CBSIG 2021-22 rising stars are Yu Ding (Columbia) and Serena Hagerty (HBS).

The CBSIG Consumer Research in Practice Award recognizes a scholarly research article that contributes significantly to marketing practice. This year’s award is based recent articles that appeared in a refereed journal (including but not limited to Journal of Marketing, Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of the Association for Consumer Research, and Journal of Consumer Psychology). The winning article must meet the following criteria:

  • Rigorous scholarly research
  • Addresses an important marketing managerial issue
  • An explicit objective of contributing to marketing practice
  • Strong and compelling marketing implications
  • Potential applicability across a range of products, services, and/or industries

The 2021-22 Research in Practice award goes to Chiara Longoni (Boston University) and Luca Cian (University of Virginia) for their JM article:

Artificial Intelligence in Utilitarian vs. Hedonic Contexts: The ‘Word-of-Machine’ Effect

The CBSIG Lifetime Achievement Award honors scholars in marketing, advertising, or psychology with a significant body of work in developing and advancing consumer research, including articles in AMA journals and active membership in AMA during most of one’s career.

The 2021-22 Lifetime Achievement award winner is Geeta Menon (NYU Stern).

Congratulations to all, and see you in February!

Note: CBSIG officers recused themselves of evaluating any nominations that presented a potential conflict of interest.