2022-23 CBSIG Award Winners

We received many impressive submissions, and would like to thank all those who nominated outstanding CB research and researchers for the awards. We are excited to announce this year’s CBSIG Award Winners:

The CBSIG 2022-23 rising star is Rodrigo da Silva Dias from the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University.  The CBSIG Rising Star Award honors advanced doctoral students or candidates in marketing, advertising, or psychology in good standing at an AACSB university; rising stars have demonstrated research productivity (e.g., conference presentations, journal articles) and a bright future in consumer behavior research.

The 2022-23 Research in Practice award goes to Vanessa Patrick (Bauer College of Business at the University of Houston) and Candice R. Hollenbeck (Terry College of Business, University of Georgia) for their JCP article, “Designing for All: Consumer Response to Inclusive Design.”

The CBSIG Consumer Research in Practice Award recognizes a scholarly research article that contributes significantly to marketing practice. This year’s award is based recent articles that appeared in a refereed journal (including but not limited to Journal of Marketing, Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of the Association for Consumer Research, and Journal of Consumer Psychology). The winning article must meet the following criteria:

  • Rigorous scholarly research
  • Addresses an important marketing managerial issue
  • An explicit objective of contributing to marketing practice
  • Strong and compelling marketing implications
  • Potential applicability across a range of products, services, and/or industries

The 2022-23 Lifetime Achievement award winner is J. Jeffrey Inman from the Katz Graduate School of Business at the University of Pittsburgh.

The CBSIG Lifetime Achievement Award honors scholars in marketing, advertising, or psychology with a significant body of work in developing and advancing consumer research, including articles in AMA journals and active membership in AMA during most of one’s career.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Note: CBSIG officers recused themselves of evaluating any nominations that presented a potential conflict of interest.